Posted in Hollywood, Hope, Movies, Uncategorized

I hope

Andy Dufresne: You know what the Mexicans say about the Pacific?
Red: No.
Andy Dufresne: They say it has no memory. That’s where I want to live the rest of my life. A warm place with no memory.
Red: Let me tell you something my friend.
Hope is a dangerous thing. Hope can drive a man insane.

Andy Dufresne: [in letter to Red] Remember Red, hope is a good thing, maybe the best of things, and no good thing ever dies.
..
[last lines]
Red: [narrating] I find I’m so excited, I can barely sit still or hold a thought in my head. I think it’s the excitement only a free man can feel, a free man at the start of a long journey whose conclusion is uncertain. I hope I can make it across the border. I hope to see my friend and shake his hand. I hope the Pacific is as blue as it has been in my dreams. I hope.

549312_10206969155131461_8868719161357070628_n

Shawshanks Redemption is much more than just a movie. I always look to the above passage and image when I am down, clueless, hopeless. No I can’t be hopeless but hope drives me crazy, but it is necessary to keep that flame alive.

Andy taught me to make the very best of whatever situation you are in, and even when life seems to be unfair or has nothing much to offer, don’t let it steal one thing from you ‘hope’. That is why I hope.

Author:

Coming out of hibernation

Leave a Reply

